Sydney University Men’s Water Polo Club

Sydney University Men’s Water Polo Club (SU or the Club) had another fantastic and extremely busy 2017/18 with great participation from our over 250 strong membership ranging from our elite Australian Water Polo League squad, senior grade players to juniors in the U18 to U12 age groups. We continue to grow “from the bottom up” and support our players in taking numerous teams to both State, National and independent Competitions throughout the year which have become a highlight to both player and supporters alike. This would not be possible without the dedication of our volunteers and coaches who ensure the experience is a memorable one for which we are truly grateful.

The Club held two amazing offshore Training Camps in July 2017 to help with player development and personal growth. A group of U16’s went to Malta and a group U14’s went to Santa Barbara (USA). Both tours were extremely successful and the club looks forward to hosting more overseas tours in the years to come.

More difficult during the year was the passing of Club great Stewart Moar. In recognition of Stewart’s contribution and service to the Club, it was announced at our Blue & Gold Water Polo lunch that the Club’s highest award was to be re-named The Stewart Moar President’s Trophy. We were also saddened by the passing of Ronnie Glasel.  We continue to send our support to Club member Nick Dempsey who suffered spinal damage and our annual Charity Tournament this year assisted raising funds to assist The Australian Spinal Research Foundation charity.

Looking forward to continued success and enjoyment of all our members at all levels from the great game of water polo.




Sydney University Men's Water Polo Presentation Day Awards 2018

Perpetual Award Winners

Stewart Moar's President's Award Johnno Cotterill

Coach of the Year Dusan Krstic

Geoff Winterton Award - Club Administration Person of the Year Neil O’Shea

Balla Award Steven Gotsoulias

Nerryl Watt Award - Encouragement for upcoming junior Tom Mateffy


Ali Visch Australian Water Polo League MVP Award Anthony Hrysanthos

Most improved Cody Ingram

Best Team Player Scott Nicholson


MVP Thomas Kearns

Most improved Tom McJannet

Best Team Player Andrew Cameron


MVP James Butcher

Most improved Tom Harris

Best Team Player Stefan Despotovic


MVP Raph Pirat

Most improved Harry Nixon

Best Team Player Steven Gotsoulias


MVP Patrick Rohl

Most improved Adam Sharman

Best Team Player Mark Burgess


MVP Phil Howarth

Most improved Stephan Cerni

Best Team Player


18A Blue

MVP Rory O'Shea

Most improved Caleb Millin

Best Team Player Harry Nixon

18A Gold

MVP Phil Tzoumis

Most improved Joel Butcher

Best Team Player Jock Ferguson

16A Blue

MVP Zac Green 

Most improved Luka Krstic 

Best Team Player Pat Hogan


MVP Luke Stimson

Most improved Gabe Carmody

Best Team Player Joshua Magdas

16B Blue

MVP Gianni Sciacca

Most improved Matt McGuinness

Best Team Player Harry Carson


MVP Oliver Utteridge

Most improved Harry Barnier-Bate

Best Team Player Charlie Bladon

14A Blue

MVP Harrison Miller

Most improved Matthew Davies

Wise Owl Ben Scott

14A Gold

MVP Riley Martin

Most improved Rhys Williams

Best Team Player Lachlan Hull

14A Cubs

MVP Finn Hearn

Most improved Eric Carney

Best Team Player Tom Williams


MVP Lucas Banfield

Most improved Nicholas von Behr

Best Team Player Jake Varone


MVP Zac Izzard

MVP Lachlan George

MVP Felix Pal

MVP Lewis Saupin

Most improved Jonah de Groot

Most improved Irinaios Maneas

Most improved William Richardson

Most improved Ilija Todic

Best Team Player Mitchell Chen

Best Team Player Hugo Owen Jones

Best Team Player Toby Torrible

Best Team Player Daniel Tzioumis